Goodbye solitude

Spring marks the beginning of a new field season. When I spent my days in the field measuring CH₄ fluxes between soils and the atmosphere, I am mostly all by myself. Last Thursday at my mesocosm experiment that little insect kept me company which didn’t mind being carried around with the measurement equipment.

However right now, I am in Vienna to visit one of the biggest conferences I can possibly attend in my reasearch area. The European Geosciences Union General Assembly 2017 has begun.

DSC00703.JPG

A full week of listening, watching, discussions, networking … over 900 sessions and more than 10000 attendees. Topics ranging literally from the Earth’s core all the way into outer space. You can even watch part of the action from home. For me, it will be the first time to present my project CH4ScarabDetect to a really large and diverse audience. If you are actually at the conference this week and interested to learn more about my project or insect CH₄ emissions in general, you can find me in poster hall X1 at board 17:30-19:00. My project supervisor, Prof. Claudia Kammann, is going to talk about rose chafers (Cetonia aurata) early in the morning in session SSS4.7.

EGU2017-12499 | Posters | SSS4.7

The influence of cockchafer larvae on net soil methane fluxes under different vegetation types – a mesocosm study
Carolyn-Monika Görres, Claudia Kammann, David Chesmore, and Christoph Müller
Tue, 25 Apr, 17:30–19:00, Hall X1, X1.221

EGU2017-12198 | Orals | SSS4.7

Stimulation of methane oxidation by CH4-emitting rose chafer larvae in well-aerated grassland soil
Claudia Kammann, Carolyn-Monika Görres, Stefan Ratering, and Christoph Mueller
Tue, 25 Apr, 08:45–09:00, Room -2.32

Leave a Reply

