March for Science

I study greenhouse gas fluxes between soils and the atmosphere, but I will never see my study object. I can hold a beetle larva in my hand knowing that it potentially can emit methane, but the gases stay invisible. I only ever see them indirectly as numbers on a screen or a printout. Thus it is essential for my work to be able to trust the output of analyzers, but also to trust data and publications made available by other scientists. At the same time, I have to be very critical about my own work and the work of others. All measurements have uncertainties and are prone to errors. Measurements can be interpreted in different ways. The combination of trust, critical assessment, sharing data and knowledge as well as open discussions are key elements of research integrity and the basis for advancing our knowledge. Alternative facts don’t help here. And that is why I marched for science today. And of course, to have a great time with a bunch of funny, cool and crazy people I have never met before.

Leave a Reply

